Life

“Are we growing wiser, are we just growing taller?” – Damien Marley  


There’s something about growing older that starts to focus your perspectives, choices, desires. You become more aware and more secure of yourself and what you want. But my problem had been that some of the people and relationships I had along the way didn’t fit in my life quite the way they used to anymore, && others had chosen paths that I didn’t fit into either. It held me back some because I found myself stuck between who I was for the sake of preserving history and who I’m becoming. I felt stifled in growth and lost.

Today however enlightened my view when I came across a post saying “take what you can get (what people are willing to give) and forgive the rest”. I took this to mean we are all our own people and sometimes we impose obligation on each other. Yet I shouldn’t expect someone to feel obligated to accommodate me; my desires, my choices, to an extent that they stifle themselves and in turn they shouldn’t expect me to either. Of course there are some do or die instances BUT as life evolves so do relationships. Some grow stronger some fade out and some simply change in their nature. Accepting this now I’m able to be who I am, to allow myself permission to my own choices and trust that everything else will fall into place and I’ll fit in exactly where I can, where I belong importantly where MY choices take me.

This seemingly simple realisation has been conceptualised in so many ways in my head, to the point of confusion; up until this point it had me reeling, yet the simple solution is to let life be. Grow and allow new chapters into your life. As much as I was anxious about my relationships so are others about their own. So simply: enjoy what others have to offer and give only what you can, free yourself from obligation and be open to possibilities. Let life be what it will be…

Leave a Reply

