Walking Tall..silent killer.

Random

When a well put together lady walks past you made up and walking tall (heels) and she doesn’t stop to say hi, or flash a smile, she isn’t always rude, sometimes it’s pain!!

Since I became 22 I have been challenging myself to be more feminine. For me this means I want to wear heels more often: make myself up; perfumed- coiffured, my nails groomed & painted; a level slightly beyond basic hygene. I’ve decided that having been tomboyish most of my life I now want to explore my feminine, sensual groomed side a little more. Being a gemini I call it giving my twin a chance. 

So, one of the changes I have made is that here & there I wear heels more frequently. They usually hurt or are so uncomfortable that I can barely think beyond reminding myself how to walk. I sometimes have to mentally recite- left leg up, step forward, right leg up, step forward , – repeat-!

Today, I later realised that as I had walked past the guard at work, one whom I normally acknowledge and say “hi” to. On this occasion, I had diva’d past him with nary a glance. Hopefully he’ll forgive that I forgot the friendly hello because despite my confident facade, the feigned calm and composed elegance in my gaint as I went about my business, I was actually mentally consumed with calculating the perfect formula to achieve balance so as to stay upright & grounded while trying to walk on what felt like stilts! At that moment, running through my mind were calculations of the angle at which to step on to avoid stumbling, the timing of the next step to avoid a sprained ankle, it was brain work overload.

When I finally made it to my desk, I thought of how many other ladies possibly shared daily experiences like mine (I commend you Victoria Beckham- who I doubt owns a pair of flat shoes). The thought of other women possibly going through the same thing made me laugh because I then thought that maybe some of the women (& men) I’ve walked past who can barely smile or acknowledge you when they are looking haaawt in heels may simply just be suffering silently (let’s not even start on possible bunions & shortened calf muscles). Of course there is the possibility that they just don’t give a rat’s toosh about you, and wouldn’t acknowledge you even in uggs or wellies, but the former version is funnier and relatable in my head and I just thought I’d share this random thought 😘

2 thoughts on “Walking Tall..silent killer.

Leave a Reply

